top of page
Search

Falling in love with Gaby

Updated: Jul 14, 2018

Well, I do not know what your opinions are about Gabriella kit by Reva Schick, but any of you who are reading this and know my work, already know that I have an strong inclination and predilection for this reborn doll kit. My "Gaby" (as I call her) is one of my favorite big kit. And, I just love her!

Gabriella by Reva Schick

Welcome to my very first Blog post! Wow I must confess I have never written about my passion, but I guess it is time! so what a better way to start than talking about "My Gaby"


My First impression!

I bough my second big kit "Gaby" about six years ago. when I opened the box I looked at that raw vinyl head and I said, "she looks like a boy, but what a beautiful nose!" and then not only her nose, but her mouth, eyes, ears and of course her ball jointed head, were the characteristics that make me fall in love with this kit.

That Gaby was my 16th doll made and sold. She had a wig (not rooted because it was a big challenge and the kit price was to expensive for me like to ruin it with my lack of experience on rooting Human hair on a big head like hers), so even with a wig, she ended looking pretty realistic to me,and to a lot of people, that kindly let me know their opinions, and of course, to her adopting Mommy. She sold for a reasonable price for a beginner like I was. So my job on her was very gratifying.


Time fly!


I guess, six month later I found out that Gabriella by Reba Schick was a limited edition and I that she was sold out, I felt very disappointed and sad that I could never ever will be able to make a most perfect Gaby than the first one. I dedicated to make another kits, small, medium and big ones like my other favorite kit (Elisa by Gerlinde Feser), but Gaby was always in my mind.


Big News!


two years latter. A previous client was asking me to make a custom doll of Gaby, I always told her, she was sold out and finding a kit was not easy and it was going to cost much more. I never do custom dolls, but one day this person said me. "if I found a Gaby, will you make a custom doll for me, I said to her, If you find two kits, I will." Some time latter, she contacted me and said, I saw on the webpage of a reborn supply store, that the Gabriella kit is Back in stock like an Open edition. I WAS LITTERALY "ABOVE THE CLOUDS"

As you can imagine, I was so happy that I made the custom doll, and another for sale on EBay, That was the big begging of my #gabylove. Since that moment I had made 7 dolls from this kit. The first ones did not had rooted hair, it was a big challenge for me, so my 3 first Gaby had wigs, but for me in, by that time, in order to reach the real looking of a child I have to learn how to root human hair. The time was approaching, in which I was going to reach the doll number 98 made and sold, so to celebrate my doll number 100, could not be other than Gaby, with human hair rooted in it

my lates version of Gabriella Kit
Linda Cristina


It´s complicated




Although the result is very gratifying, and the positive comments of the people who admire or like our work elevate the ego. The process of making, assembling, posing for photos, and even packaging this great kit, "It's complicated ", and it takes a lot of time and energy, but, What we are not willing to do for LOVE!









131 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page